Stop the Madness: #TXlege Budget Action Item!

TexasMoneyTree

Calling the Texas Grassroots Army: All hands on deck, today!  This cannot wait!

The State Budget Conference Committee is still meeting to resolve the budget differences before the budget goes back to both the House and the Senate to be voted on. Agreement has not yet been reached.

Gov. Abbott has insisted the Conferees add back to the budget these items, which are opposed by a majority of the conservative grassroots groups:

$236 million for Abbott’s “high quality” prekindergarten initiative, taken out of schools’ basic funding
$16 million for Abbott’s university scholar recruitment program
$86 million for Abbott’s Texas Enterprise Fund & $22 million for Film & Music Industry incentives (Corporate Welfare)
Total: $360 million!

Our pro-life wins in the House are also in jeopardy of being removed!

 Please weigh in right now by telling the Budget Conferees you want the following:
1) Eliminate state funding for abortion providers & affiliates (i.e. Planned Parenthood)
2) Fund alternatives to abortion at the full $38.3 million for two years
3) No raid on the Rainy Day Fund or Transportation funds!
4) Fully defund the Enterprise Fund (Corporate Welfare)
5) Fully defund Film & Music subsidies (Corporate Welfare)
6) Ensure 24 full payments to the Permanent School Fund – no budget gimmick here!
7) Don’t rob basic school funding for new Pre-K programs.
Even if you don’t agree with all of these points, pick those you do and contact the Budget Conference Committee members ASAP! If you wait, it may be too late & then we’ll be faced with trying to defeat the budget – which is MORE difficult!

Take Action – Step 1: Contact the Conference Committee members below


Take Action – Step 2: Contact your own State Rep & State Senator with this same message! Let them know exactly what you think about these budget items!
If they get enough calls, they will weigh in with the Conference Committee too!

Contact the Conference Committee members below:
Rep. John Zerwas (Co-Chair House): (512) 463-0657, john.zerwas@house.texas.gov
Twitter @RepJohnZerwas
Facebook https://www.Facebook.com/johnzerwas/

Rep. Trent Ashby: (512) 463-0508,  trent.ashby@house.texas.gov
Twitter @TrentAshbyTX
Facebook https://www.Facebook.com/trent.ashby.568

Rep. Sarah Davis: (512) 463-0389, sarah.davis@house.texas.gov
Twitter @SarahforHD134
Facebook https://www.Facebook.com/sarahdavisrep134/

Rep. Larry Gonzales: (512) 463-0670, larry.gonzales@house.texas.gov
Twitter @larrygonzales52
Facebook https://www.Facebook.com/larrygonzalesHD52

Rep. Oscar Longoria: (512) 463-0645, oscar.longoria@house.texas.gov
Twitter @RepLongoria
Facebook https://www.Facebook.com/oscarlongoriajr

Sen. Jane Nelson (Co-Chair Senate): (512) 463-0112, jane.nelson@senate.texas.gov
Twitter @SenJaneNelson
Facebook https://www.Facebook.com/SenatorJaneNelson/

Sen. Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa: (512) 463-0120, juan.hinojosa@senate.texas.gov
Twitter @TxChuy
Facebook https://www.Facebook.com/SenatorChuyHinojosa/

Sen. Joan Huffman: (512) 463-0117, joan.huffman@senate.texas.gov
Twitter @joanhuffman
Facebook https://www.Facebook.com/senatorjoanhuffman/

Sen. Lois Kolkhorst: (512) 463-0118, lois.kolkhorst@senate.texas.gov
Twitter @loiskolkhorst
Facebook  https://www.Facebook.com/LoisKolkhorst/

Sen. Charles Schwertner: (512) 463-0105, Charles.schwertner@senate.texas.gov
Twitter @DrSchwertner
Facebook https://www.Facebook.com/drschwertner/

Thank you, Mighty Texas Grassroots Army!

JoAnn Fleming

Executive Director

Grassroots America – We the People PAC

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s